Motor Vehicle Department

Today I left the apartment early to go to the MVD in Mesa. (We called it DMV in Connecticut. They do here, depending on the services offered.) The MVD offers more services, I do believe. Correct me if I’m wrong? Anyway, I stood in the information line for 5 minutes, before getting a ticket which brought me to a desk numbered 8 with a woman to help me get my license. She took my old license, and my paperwork which I found online at the DMV, and she proceeded to set things up for my license. She forgot to add that I had a motorcycle license, but we’ll get into that later. She handed off my paperwork to the license photographer. I waited on a bench. He took my picture. I waited for the photo. While at desk number 8, I had my title changed to Arizona. With that came a 3 day permit I had to purchase as my plates were no longer valid after that. Thanks, DMV, MVD.

Whatever.

Anyway, after getting my license, and keeping my older one with an added punch hole, I went 4 miles via my Garmin to an Emissions Center. I waited in my car for 15 minutes before having it inspected. It passed. I paid a little over $27 for 2 years. I brought that paperwork back to MVD, and that’s when they issued my new license plate (1), and registration. I spent over $130+ for a 2 year registration and the plate. I think the license cost $15 due to my age. The three day permit was a negligible amount. Worth it in case my car didn’t pass, which according to Arizona residents, is hard to fail. If it drives, it passes. Cool! While getting my new registration, I happened to ask about my license, if it included the Motorcycle status (which I had in CT), as well. Nope. The woman at Desk 20 something had to correct the mistake of the younger woman at desk 8, (who forgot to state that I had a CT motorcycle license), and then I had to fork over seven more dollars. I then proceeded to the License photographer again. Luckily due to liking my old picture on my license, I was able to keep it, hence proving that I indeed had a motorcycle license status, and not having to go through the testing again. The whole process took almost 3 hours. I would suggest getting the emissions testing done before going to MVD. It saves a lot of running around. I have my new plate, registration and license. The MVD was very efficient, and this would have taken longer if they weren’t so organized. Whew! That’s done!

Arizona License Plate

Leave a Reply

